The surprise gifts are always the best ones

Ever since my girls were old enough to write, I always asked them to give me their holiday wish list. (We celebrate both Hanukkah and Christmas in our house. We are equal opportunity celebrationists.)  There were a few reasons for this.

Mostly, my husband and I did want to get the girls some of the things they really wanted. But not all. Never all.  Primarily because of the cost and also because it takes the fun and guessing out of what they will actually get.

The girls also knew there were be some surprise gifts as well. Now, most of the time, these were not costly gifts. But for one reason or another, they were very special gifts.

This year, I have my lists from my girls…but they’re a little bit longer now. Because they now include son-in-laws and two wonderful grandchildren. The girls don’t ask for much these days, knowing we are buying for their husbands and children as well. So they just might get everything they asked for.

But they’ll also get a few “surprise” gifts. Because the holidays wouldn’t be the same without them.

Leave a Reply

