Things I learned from the guy who punches your receipt at BJs and why all craftspeople should take note

(If you don’t have a BJ’s warehouse, substitute Cosco or Sam’s Club. I’m sure the same receipt-punch procedures are followed at all of them.)

I was exiting the store a few months ago, and the receipt-punch guy (who  normally doesn’t  make much more conversation than “have a good one!!”) noted that I had a bag of sweet potato fries in my cart. “You know what goes great with them?” he asked. Too stunned that real words actually came out of his mouth, I just shook my head in the negative. “A little garlic salt and a lot of fresh dill.”

Aegean Blue Seaglass Lampwork Bead Pendant with WOW Charm

Wow. Imagine that. Getting gourmet cooking tips from the receipt-punch guy. I was stunned. And after I thanked him, hurried home to try out what he suggested.

Double wow. Those fries were AWESOME! (I am now a fresh dill-a-holic. Adding it wherever I can.)

Now, no doubt those fries would have been just fine without the fresh dill. (I usually added garlic salt, so that was no biggie.) But with the dill? Took them to a whole ‘nother level.

Which got me to thinking…could I apply that same idea to my jewelry-making? And, it turns out, the answer is yes. All it takes to go from “good” to “great” is one small thing you add, or change. Now the “thing” is probably different for everyone and everything you work on. But the IDEA is the same. When you think you’re done, take a step back and think about what you can add, or change, to make YOUR item different and better than everyone else’s. Make it stand out from the crowd. And often, it’s just something little that’s enough to make it “sing!”

Too often, I think we get into a rut, making the same thing over and over again. We need to break out of the “sameness” by adding a little fresh dill to the mix.

The other thing I got from the receipt-puncher? Open yourself up to advice from unexpected sources. Imagine how much you can learn!

SWEET POTATO FRIES, BJ-STYLE

• Frozen sweet potato fries

• Olive oil spray

• Garlic Salt

• Fresh dill, chopped

Place potatoes on single layer on baking sheet. Spray with olive oil, sprinkle lightly with garlic salt. Top with plenty of fresh dill. Cook as directed.  Enjoy!

2 comments on “Things I learned from the guy who punches your receipt at BJs and why all craftspeople should take note

  1. Herb jewelry. I think you may be onto something! 😉

    Actually sounds fabulous. I wonder if it work with regular sweet potatoes cut into fries by my very own hands? Will let you know! Now on the shopping list – fresh dill! And to make sure to sniff all Fat Dog jewelry.

  2. You know, you are absolutely right. I’ve been ripping seams on a lot of my “last years” bags and changing up the design and size and such and while I love them prior to deconstruction, just a little bit something else makes me love them more.
    Very nice post!

Leave a Reply

