Interesting Things I Learned This Week

I’ve become quite the little joiner lately. Joining this special group…or that forum…or signing up to receive “free daily tips” or “helpful hints.” Do not confuse “daily tips” with “helpful hints”. Two totally separate and unequal categories of self-help. “Daily tips” usually contains things I don’t need to know/care about/would ever use concerning activities I might engage in (though mostly likely never will). Things like knitting and crocheting, bead weaving, gardening, etc. “Helpful hints” on  the other hand, promise to make me a more perfect, well, me. I will lose weight/gain energy/love exercising (yeah, right!)/cook healthier/look gorgeous with just THESE THREE PRODUCTS/have hair like (insert celebrity name here).

Amalfi Coast Sea Glass Wire Wrapped Pendant

Wire wrapped pendant made with sea glass from Amalfi Coast, Italy

Admittedly, I am hooked on these itty bitty snippets of usable information. Maybe it’s because I have an itty bitty attention span? But it’s like email crack to me. I admit to being especially drawn to anything with numbers in the title. “Ten Foods You Should Never Eat”…  “Three New Uses For Cotton Balls”… you know what I mean. Anyway, for all the stuff that I just scan and delete, there occasionally comes along a veritable GEM of a tip/hint that needs to be printed out and shared.

So, starting this week, I will include a tip/hint to pass along and share with one and all. This week’s tip comes from Beading Daily. It’s an e-newsletter from the Interweave people who publish a lot of how-two jewelry, knitting, metalwork, etc books. Gotta love this one if you own any sterling silver jewelry.

EASY WAY TO REMOVE TARNISH FROM STERLING SILVER
1. Choose a plastic or glass (never metal) pan that is deep enough so that when filled with water your tarnished jewelry will be covered.
2. Put a piece of aluminum foil in the bottom of the pan.
3. Pour near-boiling water into the pan.
4. Add a couple tablespoons of baking soda to the water.
5. Place the tarnished jewelry onto the piece of aluminum.
6. If necessary, add more baking soda to the dish until you see the tarnish coming off your piece. You should get a slight bubbling effect with an odd odor.

Interesting website of the week: You need to be invited to join. (But If they let me in, no problems for anyone else getting in!)

http://seaglasslovers.ning.com/

This site is all about Sea Glass – what it is, color classifications, shapes, locations – where to find it, etc.

I’m digging sea glass right now. Looking forward to searching for some this summer at the beach.

FYI – have a favorite tip/hint you can share? Always looking for some more!

Leave a Reply

