Nothing excuses rudeness (pls. excuse my little rant)

Drops of Sunshine Sterling Silver Wire Wrapped Bracelet

Drops of Sunshine Sterling Silver Wire Wrapped Bracelet

I am a pretty forgiving person. I forgave the dog when she peed on my just-cleaned carpet. I forgave my husband when he told a friend that he trusted his auto mechanic more than me. (I forgave him….but it took a long, long time for me to forgive him for that one and I guilted him into buying me jewelry.) I can forgive people who get in the under 15 line at the market with at least 20 items in their cart. (Who hasn’t done that????). But I have a really, really hard time excusing people who are just plain rude.

Example: If two people are about to walk into a building about the same time, and one person holds the door open so that the other person can go in first, a “thank you” is in order.

Example: If someone gets into the wrong line of traffic and needs to get over, the person who lets that person in deserves a thank you (usually in the form of a raised hand.) Some form of acknowledgment is polite.

Example: If you are walking down a street, or pushing a cart in a grocery store, and someone knocks into you, THEY should say “I’m sorry.” (not you – as is often the case, I usually end up saying “I’m sorry” even though it was the other person who walked/bumpled/knocked into me.

And here’s what started this little rant today: I was in a pharmacy – a national chain – and waited to check out in one of those roped off lines where you wait for the next cashier. The line in back of me was growing. And 2 of the 3 cashiers were having a wonderful private discussion instead of working. Even when she eventually called me up, she kept up her private discussion. Am I the only one who finds this rude?

Is use of the words, “please” and “thank you” dying out?

Anyone else out there with tales of unspeakable rudeness?

Dichroic Bead Twirly Whirl Earrings - On Sale Now!

 

6 comments on “Nothing excuses rudeness (pls. excuse my little rant)

  1. If you only knew. Bobbi, I worked as the front end manger for Target for 4 yrs. I handled customer service. I can’t begin to tell you the things i’ve seen and heard.
    People just don’t care anymore.

  2. Bobbi, I don’t quite know where to begin! I have been pushed out of the billing line too many times.
    One the favorite phrases of rude people in India is to “please adjust” and I hate it! This happens all the time on the road, grocery shops, workplaces everywhere…..yes- people don’t care anymore and everyone seems to teach their children to be like that too 😦

Leave a Reply

