DIY Necklace/Jewelry Displays – great for jewelry makers

Be My Valentine Necklace by fatdogbeads

Be My Valentine Necklace by fatdogbeads

So here I was, sitting in my studio/office (two work stations – one for “real” work as a copywriter…the other a larger workstation for jewelry making)…thinking it’s time to get organized. This used to be my oldest daughter’s bedroom – and was sponged painted (remember when that was the rage?) robin’s egg blue with white to look like clouds/sky. I painted this room when she was maybe 11 or 12.
She is a lawyer now (and married, and a mother with her own home). So, I guess it’s about time to repaint!
I chose a lovely color called Bleached Linen (or something like that), a soft white. Once I painted wall #1 – I decided I needed to use that space as more than just a place to hang pictures. One thing about me, when I make something new, I like to look at it for a bit. That’s easy enough when it comes to bracelets or earrings. But long necklaces – they are a bit tougher. I was hanging them on an old coatrack. But then the coat rack started getting cluttered with all my craft tote bags and, well, basic crap.
Around this same time, a kitchen/bath remodeling store was going out of business near me. I popped in to see what they had (who can resist a going-out-of-business sale?) and walk away with almost 80 sample drawer pulls. Some of them are Murano glass – and were selling for up to $50 a piece!

Murano Glass Drawer Pulls

I paid a little over a dollar for each one.
I thought I could put them on the wall, and hang the necklaces from them. Trouble was, I couldn’t get the right hardware to screw them into the wall. I tried industrial strength Velcro…and while that worked, I didn’t like the look of the bare drawer pulls on the wall.

Next, I went to some of my fav stores (Marshall’s, Kohls, etc) and bought some small frames from their clearance sections. I popped out the glass and cardboard, velcro’d them to the wall, and velcro’d the drawer pulls inside of them.

Here’s a photo of what this looks like. This wall is still a work-in-progress, but I am happy with the results so far.

I also plan to get a plain board, paint it and attach some drawer pulls to it. I’ll search for an easel stand, and use it to display the necklaces at craft fairs. The longer pulls could be used to display earrings, too.
Any other good ideas for these beautiful drawer pulls?
(Besides as actual drawer pulls, that is……)

4 comments on “DIY Necklace/Jewelry Displays – great for jewelry makers

  1. Hey! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed
    to ask. Does running a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?

    I am completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • I am really the worst person to ask this! I am a terrible blogger. And was actually just working a post as I got your message. I don’t have a great deal of advice. However, I would tell you to connect/communicate with others about your blog on FB and Twitter. That’s how I got a lot of people reading mine (when I get around to doing one!)
      You certainly don’t have to write a blog post everyday, but once a week is great. Make sure you use the “tag” feature that WordPress has on your blog page so that other people who are interested in what you write about can find you.
      Good luck,
      Bobbi

Leave a Reply

