Bad Blogger Chronicles: Jewelry Trends For Spring: Long Necklaces

What a surprise! My blog post is late again! Let’s see if we can make it worthwhile for you to take the time to read this one. Today, I’m focusing on what seems to be a pretty hot accessories trend for Spring – long necklaces. I remember a few months back watching an episode of Hawaii Five O. (oh Steve McGarret – you’re giving Jack Bauer a real run for his money!) Anyway, the cute girl-who’s-name-I-can’t-remember (when there was only one girl on the 5-o team) was wearing a pair of jeans and a tee shirt in one scene. And she had on this loonnnnng silver necklace with either one or two small circle beads on it. It looked great!

Crystal Perfection long necklace
Blue Denim Lampwork Long Necklace

Blue Denim Lampwork Long Necklace

Whether you like silver or gold, plain or embellished, long necklaces really rock your look.

I’ve been playing around with some different long necklace designs…and they seem to be selling well. Everyone can wear them – and if they are lightweight enough, you can even wear a few at once.

I’ve been asked “how long is long?” And I found this info on the web:

Neck chains come in a variety of sizes:

  • 16″ Choker length
  • 17-18″ at collarbone
  • 20″ A few inches below collarbone
  • 22″ At or above neckline
  • 24″ or longer extend below the neckline24-26″ hangs at bust line
  • 30” just below the bust line
  • 36” hangs above the navel
  • Pink Parfait Long Crystal Necklace

    Pink Parfait Long Crystal Necklace

While these are pretty standard sizes, there are many custom sizes out there too. I’ve found (being short and squat) that 30″ is too long for some necklaces I wear. I’ve been able to order some 28″ sterling silver chains that fit me much better.

And – just to contradict myself, I should tell you that some of the newer necklaces I’m making would measure 36″ if opened up and laid end to end. Yet they look just fine (even on us shorties.)

Leave a Reply

